Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at Town of Hanover Libraries.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Etna Library FIC OFA 31257000286855 New items Available -
Howe Library FIC OFA 31254003437742 Main floor Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780385349420
  • ISBN: 0385349424
  • Physical Description: x, 382 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First United States Edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"A novel"--Jacket.
Originally published: Great Britain : Tinder Press, 2016.
Summary, etc.:
"Daniel Sullivan, a young American professor reeling from a failed marriage and a brutal custody battle, is on holiday in Ireland when he falls in love with Claudette, a world famous sexual icon and actress who fled fame for a reclusive life in a rural village. Together, they make an idyllic life in the country, raising two more children in blissful seclusion until a secret from Daniel's past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Family secrets > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9780385349420
This Must Be the Place
This Must Be the Place
by O'Farrell, Maggie
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

This Must Be the Place


An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. Best-selling author Maggie O'Farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls "her breakout book." Perfect for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette .   Meet Daniel Sullivan, a man with a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and a wife, Claudette, who is a reclusive ex-film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Claudette was once the most glamorous and infamous woman in cinema before she staged her own disappearance and retreated to blissful seclusion in an Irish farmhouse.  But the life Daniel and Claudette have so carefully constructed is about to be disrupted by an unexpected discovery about a woman Daniel lost touch with twenty years ago. This revelation will send him off-course, far away from wife, children, and home. Will his love for Claudette be enough to bring him back?   "O'Farrell's prose manages to be both intimate and expansive and keenly perceptive in its insights about the complexities of marriage.  Beautiful and bittersweet, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE will make O'Farrell's longtime fans swoon while prompting new readers to wonder why they've only just discovered her." --BookPage    "I have been a huge fan of Maggie O'Farrell's novels for years.  She writes with tremendous clarity and poise and in THIS MUST BE THE PLACE you are invested in what happens to Daniel and Claudette from the moment you meet them.  A joy to read."  --Jane Green   "Inventive, moving, and hilarious. I loved it."   --Rachel Joyce, best-selling author of  The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry  

Additional Resources