Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results filters

Filtered by:

Locations

Children's audio Children's board books Children's book bags Children's chapter books Children's comics Children's DCF display Children's early readers Children's first steps Children's GSF display Children's magazines Children's movies Children's new shelf Children's nonfiction Children's older picture books Children's paperbacks Children's picture books Children's pop-up books Children's Reference Etna children's holiday Etna children's conservation collection Etna children's graphic books Etna children's magazines Etna childrens Etna teens Family movies - Main floor Holiday Lauren's Place Lauren's Place - Chapters Teen room Teen room display Teen room new shelf ×

Not Audience

Adult
×

Not Item Type

Computer file
×

Not Item Form

Electronic OR Online
×


Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Town of Hanover Libraries.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Etna Library FIC RIC 31257000283969 New items Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0063001608
  • ISBN: 9780063001602
  • Physical Description: 355 pages ; 21 cm.
    print
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Harper, [2020]

Content descriptions

General Note: Originally published in Great Britain in 2020 by Orion Books.
Summary, etc.: "The river can take you home. But the river can also drag you under... 'It's something she learned years ago - the hard way - and that she knows she will never forget: even the sweetest fruit will fall and rot into the earth, eventually. No matter how deep you bury the pain, the bones of it will rise up to haunt you ... like the echoes of a summer's night, like the river flowing relentlessly on its course.' Margot Sorrell didn't want to go home. She had spent all her adult life trying not to look behind. But a text from her sister Lucy brought her back to Somerset. 'I need you.' As Margot, Lucy and their eldest sister, Eve, reunite in the house they grew up in beside the river, the secrets they keep from each other, and from themselves, refuse to stay hidden. A wedding brings them together but long-simmering resentments threaten to tear the family apart. No one could imagine the way this gathering would change them all forever. And through the sorrow they are forced to confront, there is a chance that healing will also come. But only if the truth is told."--Publisher.
Subject: Homecoming Fiction
Families Fiction
Family secrets Fiction
Sisters Fiction
Grief Fiction
Weddings Fiction
Genre: Domestic fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - Kirkus Review for ISBN Number 9780063001602
The River Home : A Novel
The River Home : A Novel
by Richell, Hannah
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Kirkus Review

The River Home : A Novel

Kirkus Reviews


Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Blessed with youth, love, and promise, Ted and Kit move into an idyllic country home, but years later their relationship has failed and each of their three adult daughters is burdened with a threatening secret. "This is the place," life model Kit tells playwright Ted when she first sees Windfalls, the gorgeous if neglected English farmhouse set above an orchard and a river in Somerset. But this picture-perfect setting becomes the backdrop to jealousy, postnatal depression, sexual violence, and arson in British author Richell's latest novel, a family drama that follows simply delineated characters along clear grooves. Free-spirited Kit becomes a neglectful mother but a successful popular novelist; Ted's early promise is stalled by writer's block until he finds release elsewhere. Oldest daughter Eve grows into a busy mother with an obsessive eye for detail. Middle sister Lucy is "ridiculously naïve and chaotic" while volatile Margot, who dropped out of school at 16, is "the Queen of Self-Sabotage." A giveaway prologue hints too heavily toward Margot's share of the family's mysteries; meanwhile, Lucy and Eve are keeping their own secrets. But all will come to a boil during the tense days running up to Lucy's suddenly announced wedding, to be held informally in a tent in the Windfalls orchard. This, then, is the place where pain will finally be shared and the family chess pieces rearranged on the board. Richell's uncomplicated tale-spinning, along with her devotion to lovely landscapes and boho-chic interiors, propels her narrative forward at a smooth pace, gliding over implausibilities to deliver a polished blend of romance, tragedy, and family feeling. A brimming glassful of apple-scented summer escapism. Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Syndetic Solutions - Library Journal Review for ISBN Number 9780063001602
The River Home : A Novel
The River Home : A Novel
by Richell, Hannah
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Library Journal Review

The River Home : A Novel

Library Journal


(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

At a British country home called Windfalls, middle daughter Lucy Sorrell wishes to reunite her estranged family by inviting them all to the happy yet spontaneous occasion of her wedding. The biggest crack in her family's foundation is the rift between her youngest sister, Margot, and their mother, best-selling romance author Kit Weaver; at 17, Margo set fire to and destroyed Kit's writing studio containing the unfinished manuscript of her novel. Richell's (Secrets of the Tides) latest is an amazing work of Brit lit/women's fiction, a tearjerker about love, loss, family, secrets, and the courage of carrying on, focusing on the relationships among sisters, mothers, and daughters. Set mostly in the present with occasional trips into the recent past to fill in blanks, this character-driven tale flows effortlessly with the author's descriptive prose painting every emotional scene with care. Her skill at peeling away the layers of and revealing the raw pain in this incredibly complicated family is exemplary and extremely important to the narrative. VERDICT Fans of Karen White, Kristin Hannah, Barbara Delinsky, and fantastic women's fiction will have difficulty putting down this novel.--Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City-Cty. Lib. Dist., St. Peters, MO


Additional Resources