Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Town of Hanover Libraries.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Howe Library YA FIC CHA 31254003717390 Teen room new shelf Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781338673524 :
  • ISBN: 1338673521 :
  • Physical Description: 383 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Scholastic Press, 2021.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
A tale inspired by true events traces the experiences of a talented singer who wants to escape her all-white community before catching the attention of an R&B star who gives her access to fame and luxury in exchange for unscrupulous sacrifices.
Subject: African Americans > Fiction.
Teenage girls > Fiction.
Sound recording industry > Fiction.
Exploitation > Fiction.
Novels in verse.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9781338673524
Muted
Muted
by Charles, Tami
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

Muted


A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds! Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard. For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown. So Denver is more than ready on the day she and her best friends Dali and Shak sing their way into the orbit of the biggest R&B star in the world, Sean "Mercury" Ellis. Merc gives them everything: parties, perks, wild nights -- plus hours and hours in the recording studio. Even the painful sacrifices and the lies the girls have to tell are all worth it. Until they're not. Denver begins to realize that she's trapped in Merc's world, struggling to hold on to her own voice. As the dream turns into a nightmare, she must make a choice: lose her big break, or get broken. Inspired by true events, Muted is a fearless exploration of the dark side of the music industry, the business of exploitation, how a girl's dreams can be used against her -- and what it takes to fight back.

Additional Resources